Message from Dave..... Moderator Approval

Don't panic if your post doesn't appear immediately.

× Rock Chalk Talk: Basketball

Anything pertaining to basketball: college, pro, HS, recruiting, TV coverage

Big 12 Tourney Cancelled?

• replayloungehawk
  • replayloungehawk's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
More
4 years 1 month ago #25239 by replayloungehawk
That's what I'm seeing. Anyone confirm this?

twitter.com/craigway1?ref_src=twsrc%5Ego...serp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Share this page:

More
4 years 1 month ago #25240 by NotOstertag
KUSports is reporting the same. Ditto with lots of conf tourneys. Damn. Not sure this bodes well for the NCAAs.

"When I was a freshman, I remember Coach Naismith telling us how important it was to play good defense." - Mitch Lightfoot

More
4 years 1 month ago #25242 by Slayer2384
B10, SEC, ACC, and AAC tournaments are all now cancelled. I'm sure all conference tourneys to be cancelled as a result. The conferences seem to be awarding the conference automatic bids to the regular season champs. It appears that it is a strong possibility of the national tournament will be cancelled in not postponed.

It brings up a hypothetical question - If the tournament is cancelled, will the NCAA recognize a national champion? If so, probably with a asterisk.

Would NCAA recognize using the polls criteria as was used in football prior to the playoff system?

Would KU accept such recognition since KU is presently a unanimous #1?

More
4 years 1 month ago #25243 by Illhawk
Last night it occurred to me that the NCAA announcing that they would play the games "in studios" could be step one ( to avoid unnecessary travel) before they pull the plug altogether.

Maybe the Helms Organization will vote a champion?

• konza63
  • c'85 Towering toward the Blue
More
4 years 1 month ago #25244 by konza63
Ugh. This is very worrying for the Dance.