Message from Dave..... Moderator Approval

Don't panic if your post doesn't appear immediately.

× Rock Chalk Talk: Basketball

Anything pertaining to basketball: college, pro, HS, recruiting, TV coverage

Grimes is gone

• NotOstertag
  • NotOstertag's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
More
5 years 1 week ago #22539 by NotOstertag
Huge mistake as I see it. Declaring but hasn't confirmed an agent. Nevertheless all indications are that he's gone for good.

I don't see it. Maybe he gets drafted this year, maybe not. If he came back and had a breakout year, he'd have a shot at solidifying his status.

On the surface, it's a mistake. Just wondering if he knows something we don't.

"When I was a freshman, I remember Coach Naismith telling us how important it was to play good defense." - Mitch Lightfoot
The following user(s) said Thank You: murphyslaw

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Share this page:

• HawkErrant
  • b82, g84 Lift the chorus...
More
5 years 1 week ago #22540 by HawkErrant
KUSports.com link

I read the article, and I think the kid is deluded. It seems clear from the article and what we have read and heard all along that leaving after one was always the plan and he has decided to stick to it. He can come back, though, even if he does get an agent, as Tait explains in the article (excerpt below).

My thought is if the kid doesn't want to be here it is better that he go. And I hope Self does NOT do a Vick boomerang with him unless KU simply comes up flat recruiting, because I think we will just see much of what we saw with Vick this year if he comes back... just not in to it for much of the season.

Even if he does hire an agent, Grimes’ could retain his college eligibility in a couple of ways.