Message from Dave..... Moderator Approval

Don't panic if your post doesn't appear immediately.

× Rock Chalk Talk: Basketball

Anything pertaining to basketball: college, pro, HS, recruiting, TV coverage

Ok, now do it again...

• NotOstertag
  • NotOstertag's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
More
5 years 2 months ago #20960 by NotOstertag
Saturday was great despite the bad news on Silvio and Garrett's injury. Hopefully Garrett will be healthy enough to play on Tuesday.

While Saturday was great, we now need to prove that it wasn't a one-off. So far this team hasn't been consistent, and it will be very interesting to see if Vick and Grimes both continue to make smart decisions on the court. Fingers crossed, but I won't be confident of it until I see a trend.

I'm also a little worried that Tech was a bit of "fool's gold". Before conference play started, Tech's one loss was to Duke, but they had played NO other ranked teams and if I remember correctly their SOS was in somewhere around 250. I felt then as I do now that they had beaten a lot of JV teams leading up to the conference season. Now, in conference play they've lost to each of the "contenders" (ISU, Baylor, KSU and KU). My point is that playing at Manhattan will be a very good test to see if what we saw Saturday is real, or if our good play was partly enhanced by Tech being somewhat more "bark" than "bite".

Hope this is the kind of play we can see going forward, but it'll take a while before there's trust.

"When I was a freshman, I remember Coach Naismith telling us how important it was to play good defense." - Mitch Lightfoot

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Share this page:

• HawkErrant
  • b82, g84 Lift the chorus...
More
5 years 2 months ago #20967 by HawkErrant