Message from Dave..... Moderator Approval

Don't panic if your post doesn't appear immediately.

× Rock Chalk Talk: Basketball

Anything pertaining to basketball: college, pro, HS, recruiting, TV coverage

Good news and bad news...

• NotOstertag
  • NotOstertag's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
More
7 years 3 months ago #10200 by NotOstertag
Regarding last night's game. I'll start with the bad, in no particular order:
  1. Terrible Defense: this kind of effort won't win us a title.
  2. Questionable free throw shooting: I say "questionable" in that it's isolated to specific players. Put it this way: If I'm an opposing coach, I'm going to harass the bejeezus out of Josh Jackson and not worry if it puts him on the line.
  3. 3rd T for Jackson: another great reason to harass this kid. Refs are now LOOKING OUT for him. Looks like yesterday he said something, nothing major, but it was enough. It's safe to assume that any/all outbursts by him will now get noticed.
  4. Svi clearly walked. Glad I'm not around any KSU fans who will harp on this indefinitely. If Svi misses, we go to OT and I think we win, but still...bleh.
  5. Complacency: seems like we woke up in the 2nd part of the 1st half and thought that if we led at halftime, we could mail it in in the 2nd half. Hoping that this scare is enough to reinforce that the games are typically 40 minutes long.

Ok, now for some good news:
  1. We won. WVU, by the way, didn't. So right now there are only 3 undefeated teams in the league and two of them (Baylor and ISU) play each other tonight. So we're one full game ahead of Huggy's thuggies. This could be a big deal later on.
  2. Landon Lucas: I forget who I was discussing the potential of him being a liability for us just a couple weeks ago. I think Landon has hit his stride. He'll never be a star, but even against non-top 25 teams, double doubles are a good thing. I think he's finally figured out how to play within himself